Advice please ....Additional leisure battery and battery monitor (1 Viewer)

RFS

Free Member
Apr 30, 2013
Yarm
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Just on my second van but still I'm a newbie
Hi all

I'm hoping that you might be able to offer some advice.

I presently only have one leisure battery (it's an 80ah) in my Master based MH.

I have 2 X 100w solar panels and would like to have 2 leisure batteries as EHU isn't used that much. I have updated my weight from 3500 to 4200 so I have the payload.

There is room in my battery box for 2 batteries (see image) and the Banner Energy will fit nicely.
image.jpg

I think it's something I can do myself, the battery posts are the same size so I will need to get 2 new straps to connect the batteries in series. Do I connect the solar panel outputs from the regulator to just one of the batteries (as they are connected now)?

I also want to fit a battery monitor which was recommended on here and is quite cheap off that well known auction site.

A question I have is (see image) how do I connect the shunt. I know it needs to go across the load, however, the battery as connected at the moment has 3 outputs (all fused) from it so I presume all these have to connect to the shunt to ensure I get an accurate reading? Can I simply cut these in-line join
image.jpeg
them and insert the shunt? I can see that the ground side connects directly to one side of the shunt but I want to make sure that I properly capture the load, otherwise I might as well forget the monitor.

Hope the images have uploaded.

Many thanks for any advice.

R

MC 55 FUN

Free Member
Feb 18, 2016
Rural South West Wales.
Funster No
MH
2015 Majestic 195
Exp
Since 20th Feb' 2016
An in series connection of two 12 volt batteries will result in a 24 volt output :eek: - you need to connect them in parallel (y)

OP
OP
RFS

RFS

Free Member
Apr 30, 2013
Yarm
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Thanks MH55, I did mean + to +, etc but for some reason typed series...!