Advice Needed - Motorhome Novice we also want to take a tent? (1 Viewer)

NECamper

Free Member
May 24, 2020
Co Durham
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All
We pick up our first motorhome this week (very excited!). Planning to do a couple of short trips in the UK, but then at the end of July take it to France with our daughter and her boyfriend. Although we have 4 births we think we and they need some privacy so want to take a tent for them to sleep in on a night. So, what's the position with booking campsites on that basis i.e. do we need to book an additional tent pitch or can we pitch the tent beneath the canopy if we have paid for 4 adults?

Reactions: SMB

sedge

Funster
Jul 7, 2009
Nr Jct 3 M6
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Aug 09 to date 9,000 miles!
Commercial campsites have rules about how close 'units' may pitch to each other, (6m apart in the UK) it's also true that some sites don't pitch both tents and vans in the same area, but have separate areas for each. If sites you want to visit have internet sites, look at the photos to see if you can get a clue - otherwise best to ask when you get there before pitching rather than wait for a grumpy European to bang on your door!

Upvote 0

SMB

Apr 26, 2013
Spain
Funster No
MH
Coachbuild
Exp
Fulltiming since February 2013
It depends on the campsite, some allow you to have a tent on your pitch free of charge, others may charge an additional fee. Some campsites charge per person, others based mainly on the vehicle/tent/pitch. I use ACSI a lot which is a discount card scheme accepted by a lot of campsites abroad and they normally list the facilities for each campsite including whether tents can be used for free or not. They have a website or you can purchase their mobile app when you have an account. Hope this helps. Ps welcome!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Nov 17, 2012
WEST SUSSEX
Funster No
MH
HYMER B SL 674
Exp
SINCE 2005