Advice For A Complete Beginner Please . (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
As in my introduction this is a completely new venture for my wife an I. We have never looked at caravanning or motor homing before.

I will try to illustrate below our thoughts and what we may go for.

My wife is disabled but able to walk short distances and by that I do mean short. But at least for now wheelchair access is not required.

What I think we need is a nice 2 berth van with a fixed bed and a shower. I would like something nice to drive as my wife is no longer able to fly and Europe by motor home beckons. I and have been browsing the internet looking at vans based on the later (2007 on) Transit Mk7 and the Peugeot/ Fiat from 2008 on.

Other than the base vehicle and the requirement for a fixed bed so the wife can get to take a lie down without the need to put up and dismantle I have little idea what I'm looking at.

I am ok with mechanics and know quite a bit about that side it's all the confusing numbers that.... Well confuse.

I really don't know if I should start the search by the base vehicle which makes the most sense to me or by the body builder IE Eldis.

My preference of base vehicle would be a Transit Mk7 which is from late 2006 on. This is simply because I have had a few Transit vans and I like the way they drive. I know quite a bit about the mechanical s and I suppose I would be more comfortable with that..

But I have been looking at the Peugeot/Fiat based vehicles as an alternative because otherwise I will have a narrow amount to choose from.

One other confusing thing is the low profile roof vans. I have been looking at the one in the link below and am wondering if there are obvious height restrictions ? Im over 6 foot so would this effectively rule out a low roof one ?
Link to a vehicle that appeals to us.
Broken Link Removed

Dec 10, 2013
South Staffs
Funster No