LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Just after a pointer that may seem a bit stupid to those in the know but I haven't got a clue :rolleyes:

If I add another panel to the roof can I join the outlet from the new panel to the existing one?
Or do I have to run another cable and controller to the leisure batteries?

Sorry if this is obvious I just don't have a clue :)

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
Most probably the easiest and best way to do it...
If you are happy to fit some new mc4 connectors just parallel the panels on the roof and the existing wires that run to the controller are already in place..
Is your controller up to an additional panel... in parallel it's the current rating you need to make sure of. And the added panel in parallel should have similar voltage characteristics to the original...
Andy.

May 31, 2015
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Ducato PVC
Exp
Getting Better
Rich,
When I looked into it, I was going to fit a junction box up on the roof and connect both panels in there so only one existing wire down. If memory serves me I believe a new controller would be required, based on a 100w already up there and another 100w added.. there was a thread I was following about it, I'll try and find it if not a search on it willl bring up loads of info..(y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 28, 2008
Dovercourt, Harwich, UK
Funster No
MH
Renalt burstner
Exp
7 years campers before that
mine join together inside a waterprooof junction box sika fixed to the roof over the hole with 6 mm cable down to the controller i just cut the existing connectors of as they will not pass through the glands and used strip connectors

OP
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Rich,