A variety of water related questions. (1 Viewer)

Longstrider

Free Member
Jun 29, 2021
Northamptonshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato Marlin
Exp
Be nice folks, I'm a newbie without a clue ... Have just bought our first motorhome, a Ducato Marlin and it appears that the grey water outlet is a stub of pipe almost on top of the rear axle. How the hell do I get a waste tank lined up with that when I can only see it by lying on the ground halfway underneath the vehicle ? (Not an easy thing to do when you're a fat bloke with a bad back ;) )

Also, having had a caravan in the past that had a cassette toilet, I'm used to adding 'blue bog jollop' to the 'clean' tank. On the motorhome it would seem that the toilet takes water from the main tank, so how do I add jollop, if at all ?

We have no idea of how long the 'fresh' water has been in the tank. Cannot find a 'dump tap' to empty it, and don't know how to best flush it out.

Any help much appreciated !

stevewagner

LIFE MEMBER
May 14, 2013
Pevensey Bay
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Yonks
You could put a small mark on the sill in line with the waste pipe. You only put jollup in the cassette tank and there should be a dump valve for the water somewhere. Otherwise the top of the tank should have a screw on lid access

Upvote 0

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
it appears that the grey water outlet is a stub of pipe almost on top of the rear axle.
That sounds odd. Does the end of the pipe look ragged or a fitting.
I’d expect a tap on the end of the pipe that’s visibly just protruding the vehicle edge, and maybe tied up. Untied it could reach further. Like ours,
it would seem that the toilet takes water from the main tank, so how do I add jollop, if at all ?
Don’t add anything. Use a trigger spray bottle with some diluted pink toilet liquid
Cannot find a 'dump tap' to empty it, and don't know how to best flush it out.