A Knighthood for playng tennis. But not for having been in Bomber command? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Maybe he should have done something more dangerous like being Samantha Cameron's hairdresser he would have got an OBE then!!

Giving that award to that hairdresser just undermines and devalues the whole lot of it. Step forward Lady hairdesser and get your award for curling hair and the odd perm....

It's just a joke innit ..............

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
it is obscene that it took so many years for our country to put up a proper memorial to all the young lives lost in bomber command. The absolute minimum that should be done is to knight "Johnny" Johnson on behalf of all who served this country

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
The whole honours system is a joke. A peerage for giving money to a political party, knighthood for winning medals at the 'lympics or forty years running the local WRVS a BEM - which for those unfamiliar with gongs is the bottom rung of the ladder. One above the Scouts' badge for skinning badgers.

chrisgreen

Funster
Jul 26, 2009
england
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
since 2004
The whole honours system is a joke. A peerage for giving money to a political party, knighthood for winning medals at the 'lympics or forty years running the local WRVS a BEM - which for those unfamiliar with gongs is the bottom rung of the ladder. One above the Scouts' badge for skinning badgers.
an old school mate of mine won a BEM while he was in the military,could never remember him skinning badgers though?

Last edited:
Oct 5, 2012
Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Carado T132
Exp
5 years, feel free to ask me about the Carado!!