Free Member
Sep 8, 2011
Kent
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi everyone, just joined because I am getting a 5th wheel (Celtic Rambler) and am completely new to this form of holidaying - never had a caravan or motorhome. My only concern is choosing the right vehicle to tow it! There seems to be some very conflicting advice out there but very little (as I can find) from people who have experience of the vehicle they are talking about. If anyone had any experienced based advice I would be happy to receive it!!
:thumb:

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
hi welcome to the fun,
i use a mitsubishi canter double cab with tail-end of chassis shortened. 3.9 diesel motor .its 6,3 ton truck. you could look for a 3,500kg version . another vehicle is the iveco daily. or even the ford transit especially the new 5cyl 3.2 motor.
i say stay away from nissan navarras but i,m sure many love them. friends use yank pickups but i prefer mine 7 seater works fine for me. isuzu also do a nice narrow truck as well. friends on the rvoc are building an iveco daily looking good last time i saw it.
i did use a vw lt50 still have it asa spare.
cheers alan

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
I

ian3441

Free Member
Sep 8, 2011
Kent
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
Im a newbie
Dear VW Allan,
Many thanks, I think I need something more suitable to doubling up as the family car though. Why do you steer clear of the Navarro if you don't mind me asking?

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
hi, my truck is no bigger than a nissan. only taller. nissans have loads of clutch problems
.put mine next to a navarra you would be amazed.
the total length of my outfit is 10mtr .the ht is 3mtr. looks bigger on the pic.