jimbus

Free Member
Aug 25, 2019
Funster No
MH
53 seater coach conv
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi I have a 53 seater coach I am currently converting to a mororhome . My question is can I change the rear axle to a single wheel axle ie 1 wheel either side as opposed to the twin wheel axle that's currently on the rear ie 2 wheels each side all on the 1 axle . Will I have to change the axle or can I just remove 1 wheel either side and fit a spacer . My reasoning is to reduce the vehicle weight as I have a class d licence to drive busses but when I remove the seats ect i will then require a class c licence as it will be over 7.5 ton, i dont have the class c licence and I am hopefully intending to further reduce the unladen weight to around 6.8 / 6.9 ton from it's current weight of just under 10 ton. I've lightened 3 ton from the bus already as it was just under 13 ton when I bought it. I need to and intend to further reduce the weight by another 3ton and removing 1 each side of the rear driving wheels will help me to achieve this . Any advice would be greatful

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
My take on it is that the load taken by the twin wheels is centred over the mounting flanges and in turn over the centre of the wheel bearings. A replacement single wheel should therefore have the centre of the tread over the centre of the wheel bearing - achieved by choosing the correct offset with minor correction using a spacer (if needed). Take look at the front axle to see how that has been achieved.

Aug 16, 2018
West Wiltshire
Funster No
Exp
Long time