3 Mobile Abroad

Discussion in 'Continental Touring' started by Biggles, Aug 2, 2014.

  1. Biggles

    Biggles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi All

    I have a contract 15GB monthly sim with 3 and now they have extended it to Europe (France) as we know. I have tried it in my unlocked MiFi but it won't work. What settings do I need to put in.

    Anyone managed to get it working?
     
  2. Thefirstbritsbrother

    Thefirstbritsbrother

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Biggles,
    I have recently returned from a trip to Scandinavia and the Baltic States and was able to use my Ipad with a "3" 12 month, 12G card in Denmark, Sweden and Finland. Excellent coverage and service was also able to create a hotspot for my wife's Ipad, I wasn't aware that was supposed to happen but I am not complaining. I used widely available free wifi in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland. I was also online in France "free 3G"as I crossed from Belgium to Dunkirk but it was unusable, nothing would load. Whether it was a blip I'm not sure I was only in France overnight. I am not aware of needing any special settings it either worked or it didn't. Only thought I have is did you have the contract more than 1 month before you went to France. I hope it comes on for you it is a great service if you get it to work.
     
  3. Biggles

    Biggles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    The sim works fine in the UK just put it in the Huawei E5372 and off it goes, but here in France nothing. There must be some settings. This dongle is fussy about APN s
     
  4. flatpackchicken

    flatpackchicken Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    988
    Location:
    BICESTER OXFORDSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +1,035
    All I kno
    All I know is that you have to have the phone and internet sim for at least 30 days before it will work in Europe as I have just changed over from T mobile to 3 yesterday but don't start until Monday and have to have it for 30 days before the European stuff comes into force ie using phone in countries they say you can for free with no roaming and no phone charges, hope this helps,,, Regards Garry Flatpackchicken
     
  5. lunarman

    lunarman Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    South Glos
    Ratings:
    +1,087
    When this was first introduced I could not get data on my phone. I had to contact 3 to get international roaming turned on for my sim maybe its the same for your data sim.
     
  6. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +3,093
    Ive been using 3 sims on mobile broadband here in France i click internet on as normal and it takes me to BYTEL mifi home page and then i have to click on connect after entering mifi password then it lets me surf the net. Hope this helps.

    The only probs ive had is 2 x 1GB sims i bought off here got data eaten up in 17 days even with no you tube available or any vids, pics, downloads or heavy data eaters not used only text based forums like this and e mails which back home 1GB would last the full month easily ! I log out of mifi and shut down fully when finished too.

    Then yesterday i tried to top up online but thier 3 pages not working fully so spent 2 hours on phone to 3 to sort it which they didnt after taking £15 for 3GB and said will get back to me in a week to let me know why its capput ! Tonight i messed around with lappy and mifi settings and have managed to get on.
     
  7. sean n maggie

    sean n maggie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    leeds
    Ratings:
    +340
    just got back from France and our 3 network coverage was hit and miss, but when we could get it, we had to log in on 3 home page and connect every time....
     
  8. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,180
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Ratings:
    +3,075
    Do you use Facebook as I read on there that vids autoplay so use up your data without you knowing so you have to go into settings and set them to autoplay on wi fi only hope this helps?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. DBK

    DBK Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,430
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +22,165
    Have you set up the correct APN in the MiFi? It is probably three.co.uk but PAYG might be different.
     
  10. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +475
    The APN for Three is simply 3internet with both the username and password blank.
     
  11. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,731
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Ratings:
    +10,376
    We have just spent 18 days in Sweden, Norway and Denmark, actually sitting on ferry home just now. We have two phones with 3 and none of them would work so I assume its todo with roaming, even though I called them and popped into local shop for advice before leaving. I also bought a PAYG sim for the Ipad one week before leaving and its worked everywhere with no issues and have used it for a hotspot for the phones. We have used 4g between the 3 of us and as we use Facebook I will need to look at the video settings as its so annoying when it just plays.
     
  12. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,180
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Ratings:
    +3,075
    we use Facebook I will need to look at the video settings as its so annoying when it just plays.[/QUOTE]

    Please see my post on Facebook settings.
     
  13. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +475
    I believe for contracts you must log in to your web portal and activate roaming on your account.

    Some more information here: http://support.three.co.uk/SRVS/CGI...cat=roaming,varset_subcat=4147,Case=obj(4138)
     
  14. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +3,093
    Thanks for that i just stopped auto play vids on fb settings on my laptop though i hardly go on it just incase, but the i pad doesnt show a setting to stop fb vids any idea how to stop them on the i pad ? Thanks.
     
  15. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,180
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Ratings:
    +3,075
    Sorry no idea. Don't have an I pad or anything Apple. I use Android. I'm sure someone will come along though.
    I'll have a look on Facebook as they mentioned it there and I'm sure I saw a way to do it on ipad.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  16. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,180
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Ratings:
    +3,075
    Here it is. A way to do it on ipad.

    I just re- read it and it's an iphone they mention. Hope it helps though.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +3,093
    thanks i see i phone but not i pad there ,bit different but i will try n hunt it down to turn vids off.
     
  18. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,731
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Ratings:
    +10,376
    I think your correct but due to having no access on the phone I couldn't log in, everytime I tried to log in on the iPad it took me to my ipad account so no good there either. I'll get it sorted this week so its fine for next time.
     
  19. peaps

    peaps Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    SWINDON
    Ratings:
    +27
    Just come home from France me and her on 3 her I pad me on galaxy tab s had the feel at home over all of France but very slow in places
     
Loading...

Share This Page