12 v stabeliser

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by clarify, May 1, 2010.

  1. clarify

    clarify

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Ratings:
    +3
    Am thnking of buying 12 v stabeliser for tv and laptop technicaly useless.
    Do I just plug in to cig lighter or what ?
    Help please .
    Ray:Doh:
     
  2. Fatalhud

    Fatalhud

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +1
  3. clarify

    clarify

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Ratings:
    +3
    just shows how little I know .
    Thanks ray
     
  4. 4b2

    4b2

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last edited: May 1, 2010
  5. Fatalhud

    Fatalhud

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +1
  6. Wintonian

    Wintonian

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Brittany, France
    Ratings:
    +3
    I would expect a TV that has a 12V DC input to be equipped with a voltage protection device. I am sure that mine has.

    I do not know of any laptops that are powered from a 12V DC outside source. Laptops are bettery powered, being charged by a mains charger. The internal battery power is stabilised by the laptop's circuitry.

    I, too, think that you may be looking for an Inverter that converts your 12V DC to 220V AC. You will probably need one with a minimum of 150W to power your laptop. The hard disk and cooling fan take quite a bit of power, as do modern high performance processors, except for the dedicated low power processors designed for people who use the laptop frequently when travelling on planes and trains (poor, sad individuals!).

    I use such an inverter, as do many others. Great for charging your camera battery or charging or using your electric shaver.:thumb:
     
  7. Jackomet

    Jackomet Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Forest Row, East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +65
    If you have a Dell lappy, 19v, and you try the Maplin thingy, I have, no go. Dell must have some logic in their PS's because using the Maplin one I get "not correct power supply".
    JK
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Gary Jones
    Replies:
    22
    Views:
    717
  2. Middy42
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    396
  3. Mickx
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    560
  4. 2bob
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    200
  5. manda3000gt
    Replies:
    22
    Views:
    1,021

Share This Page