🤣 Newbie Wondering, How On Earth Do Yon Choose A Motorhome? 🤣 (1 Viewer)

Randy Rapido

Free Member
Jun 28, 2020
Norfolk UK
Funster No
MH
Don’t own one yet
Exp
I’m a newbie
Howdo.

We are couple in our 50s looking for our first motorhome. Gone are the days we used to fill the car with kids and camping gear for a 2 week stint in France. The kids left home, so we treated ourselves to a caravan and now we are evolving into motorhomers!

Having been to some shows and many dealers we’re in awe of anyone that can choose a motorhome that suits them 🤣🤣🤣

We are getting there slowly, we”d like the large lounge and love an end washroom with wardrobe over a 2 bike garage. At 6’3” I’d like a bed around 2m long, oh yeah it has to be longitudinal so there’s no climbing over each other. Oh yes
, a large fridge, we shall need lots of alcohol if we’re to be spending time together in a small space. Decent payload too.

We know it’s all about compromise, best we are finding is the Chausson 620, although Burstner are in the running (640 I think)

Mar 18, 2015
Burrough on the Hill, Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
Rapido 886f
Exp
Since 2014
Decide what features are important to you, categorize them in "must haves" and "nice to haves".

If buying new start trawling through the manufacturers and Dealers websites and draw yourself up a shortlist of say 10 models. then go and look at each one, sit in it move around in it (both of you at the same time). That should narrow your choice.
If buying 2nd hand. check dealers websites for matches to your criteria as above, or just spend time visiting dealers and looking and sitting in vans. When you find the right one you'll know it. Don't be pressured into getting the first one you see.

Remember what suits one person might be abhorrent to another. Buy what suits YOU!

When we went looking for a new van we started out looking to buy an Adria, nearly brought a Frankia and settled on a Radpido.

Apr 19, 2019
Funster No
MH
Carado T339
Exp
5 years