Diesel Particulate Filter (1 Viewer)

Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
not sur but is that not the same as ad blue the stuff the trucks use only you get two gallons for £18 and 16 for a small can for a car
I may be wrong
edit I am wrong totally:Doh:

Last edited:

wasp

Free Member
Dec 21, 2008
Warsop
Funster No
MH
None gone caravannin
Exp
Is it right you have to have them on your diesel vehicle for the MoT if it is over 5 years old:Sad:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I am naturally suspicious of these sort of claims from manufacturers and would need some independent tests first.
AdBlue which Bill mentions is designed to reduce nitrous oxides not particulates.

Giving the throttle some "welly" from time to time seems the best thing you can do although there are companies who services to clean DPFs but I have no experience of them.

Steve

LIFE MEMBER
May 8, 2013
Compton Berkshire
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
on and off for 40 years
dpf filter.jpg

Interesting subject, look at the screen shot attached and an advert to have it removed.

paulmold

Free Member
Jun 15, 2009
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
7 year (25yrs a tugger)
Is it right you have to have them on your diesel vehicle for the MoT if it is over 5 years old:Sad:

Not true - new MOT rules are that if vehicle was fitted with a DPF originally then it must have one at MOT. Same rule applies to CATS

sdc77

Free Member
Jan 28, 2013
Weardale, Co Durham
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
since 2011
Having had experience of a vw crafter I have heard lots of horror stories of the DPF. There are plenty of stories of these vans having DPF problems.. And one thing stands out above everything else... The vans were used for short journeys... This prevents the DPF from regenerating... (this process involves diesel being injected into the DPF and burning off the diesel particles.)