Free Member
Feb 18, 2014
Brechin
Funster No
MH
Swift royale 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all, I have a 1995 Swift Royale on a Peugeot boxer 2.5tdi. Took the old bus for a spin today and a light come on on the dash, not red coloured though. Looking in the book the light is telling me there is water in the fuel filter. Not on all the time though, some days not at all then today comes on for a few minutes then goes off for a while, intermittent. Is it something to worry about as I am doing a 700 mile round trip to Yorkshire next month. Any advice would be welcome. Thanks.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
there may be a (usually plastic) thumb screw on the bottom of the diesel filter along with the water sensor.

hold a jar under and loosen the screw until clean diesel comes out.

diesel floats on water so the water will flow out first and the last thing you want is water in the injector pump.

water in the filter is usually caused by condensation in the fuel tank....a full tank will prevent it whereas a normally low tank will cause it.

Last edited:

movan

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 2, 2009
Moving around
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
since07
there may be a (usually plastic) thumb screw on the bottom of the diesel filter along with the water sensor.

hold a jar under and loosen the screw until clean diesel comes out.

diesel floats on water so the water will flow out first and the last thing you want is water in the injector pump.

water in the filter is usually caused by condensation in the fuel tank....a full tank will prevent it whereas a normally low tank will cause it.

:cry::cry::cry:I wish I was mechanical... i would have to pay somebody to do that...:Sad::Sad:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

May 21, 2008
Oxford
Funster No
MH
WildAx Constellation
Exp
Since 2008
So would lots of us Joy - and my partner is more useless technically than me!!! :ROFLMAO:

Catherine

Jan 22, 2013
London SE
Funster No
MH