Network help needed. (1 Viewer)

Jul 29, 2007
Ipswich
Funster No
MH
RV and PVC
Exp
30 years
Hi guys we moved into our new (to us) flat last week, its the living accommodation for brother-in-laws pub which he doesn't use, he's fine with me connecting to his wifi, in fact just for me he's upgrading it to fibre next week. :thumb:

Now my question is can I pick up his signal and rebroadcast it as a different network for our lappys, phones, printers and what have you? He's thinking of making his wifi an open network for his clients, so I would like to be on our own secure network.

Ian

Aug 30, 2010
South Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido 772f Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2006
Hi Olley
I'm no expert and I wouldn't know if you can pick up his signal and rebroadcast it as a different network but to make yourself secure on an 'open network' you can use a VPN which encrypts all your data, making it ideal when you are aboard for checking your banking,watching BBC I Player etc etc but not sure what the cost would be long term.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
HI Ian,

When we lived at the pub in Kent I wanted to do the same thing.. so run a LAN cable from the router in the pub to my wireless router ..

Don't think you can do it wirelessly, but I may be wrong

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
olley
Jul 29, 2007
Ipswich
Funster No
MH
RV and PVC
Exp
30 years
Hi Jim, but if your connected to the same router can't one wifi network see and access the other through the router?

Ian

ShiftZZ

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 19, 2008
Dark Side of the Moon
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2007
Would this do it?
Broken Link Removed

Broken Link Removed

Extend your home Wi-Fi network into hard-to-reach areas of your home or simply use it as a wireless router.

Features:

Four modes: Wireless Network Range Extender, Access-point, Wireless Router, Client-mode connecting to existing LAN devices
Easy configuration
5 status LEDs
RJ45 network cable