Free Member
Apr 18, 2010
Mons Belgium
Funster No
MH
Hymer B 584
Exp
Noob
Been caravaning for 30 years, but now decided to try a motorhome. I live in Mons but i'm a brit Army vet.
I don't yet have a motorhome but would benefit from some advice, I need something LHD for 1-3 people about 10 years old, nothing too dear to start, not underpowered.
My brother has a hymer on Fiat engine but i'm not to keen on fix it again tonies!
So, hello to everyone, please help me here i'm just a noob!
I just spent hours reading through the sea of info here and am now more confused than before:cry:::bigsmile:

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
We are still looking as well.

We made a list of non-negotiable down through essentials and nice-to-haves - then it is off round the dealers looking at different models to see what is available that meets the criteria and has the layout that suits. Make sure you take a notepad and pen as things soon start to blur!

Good luck.

the stig

Funster
Oct 10, 2009
Grimsby
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
Since 2009
if it helps to know in advance, you never get it right first time, usually the third van hits the spot! but welcome and enjoy searching! :Doh:

Jul 5, 2013
Tunbridge Wells, Tunbridge Wells, UK
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2013
Welcome

You will find that the vast majority of motorhomes are Fiat based. And even some of those that aren't come from the same place, (e.g. Peugot). Generally agree with your thoughts on Fiat cars but the Ducato seems to be a reasonably reliable commercial unit. Other than that you have Ford or Mercedes to choose from in mainstream units, but with much more limited choice of converter and layout.

dryad

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 25, 2010
hermit in beautiful coastal east kent
Funster No
MH
citroen relay pvc
Exp
quite a few years now, and loving every minute..
hi merovingian and :welcome:..