12v Electrical Question, any sparkies on here? (1 Viewer)

paulweller84

Free Member
Oct 24, 2013
Southampton
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, I would like to install a main switch by the main door on my van so I can switch everything on or off when entering or leaving, this would mean running a switch cable from the main control panel, but my question is what size of cable should I use? I could use something decent sized to remove any doubt about capacity but it needs to be as small as possible to make it easier to route through the van.

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
The simple way is to use a relay. That way you have no cable losses & can use very thin wire to your switch. I can send you a drawing if you wish & it really is very easy to do.

OP
OP
P

paulweller84

Free Member
Oct 24, 2013
Southampton
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks, I'm assuming I would need to fit the relay just before the main supply enters the control panel, then run a switch wire over to the new switch. Would I be right in thinking the switch would also need a permanent live feed? If so I think running from the cab interior light would be easiest

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
Make sure you don't switch off any charging arrangements , solar etc.:whatthe:

Last edited:

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
Running a trigger wire from the light circuit wont work as the power would be off if the relay is not energised. you will need to run 2 wires to the switch, a live feed and a trigger return to energise the relay

very simple to do, but there will be a constant drain when the electrics are on because the relay will take power. plus its another potential point of failure as with any moving part

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH