Panel van conversion or small coachbuilt? (1 Viewer)

pengy

Free Member
Jan 24, 2014
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper PVC
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi,

I'm new here, and have been lurking and reading and pondering!

I live on Anglesey and so travelling to look at vehicles isn't easy as most are quite a distance away. I've seen a couple reasonably locally, an Ace Siena (Fiat) and a Compass Avantgarde (Peugot). They are both nice but I'm aware how wide and tall they are! I plan to spend time touring in Scotland (as well as locally here in North Wales), and the roads in many parts are very narrow. I am worried that the vehicles will be too wide. My comfortable budget is around £21,000 (a little more if necessary). I've looked at the 3 North Wales coastal dealers, if anyone know of anyone else - do tell!

I would like to also look at a Trigano Tribute, but haven't found one nearby (yet!).

So I thought I would ask here for people's opinions:

1. Any thoughts on things to bear in mind when thinking of either type of vehicle?
2. Anyone know from first hand experience whether the narrower Trigano Tribute type actually 'feels' narrower while driving?
3. Is one kind of vehicle generally more comfortable to drive?
4. Is there a marked difference in fuel consumption between a low profile 6m ish and the conversion? If driven carefully!

Sorry - that seems to be a lot of questions!

I would appreciate any thoughts as I'm very new to all this. I wanted to buy one last year, but I got cold feet as it seemed such a big step to take! I hope to overcome that this year!

Thank you!

Yvonne

Oct 28, 2013
Lincoln
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
We started out with a relatively small Peugeot Boxer based Elddis but swapped it after a very short time for a VW LT35 based Van Conversion.