South Wales
Funster No
MH
swift kontiki
Exp
I'm a newbie bought our first motorhome 7months ago and love it
Hi guys

Can I use either in my motorhome ?
We know propane has a higher calorific value, so would it damage my appliances?

Thanks in advance

:Smile:

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
Just use propane.

Butane won't evaporate at freezing temperatures which means no heating when you need it most!!!!:Doh:

daisy mae

Free Member
Mar 12, 2013
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
C class Coachbuilt
Exp
I`m a newbie, now 1 year
You can use either, never had a problem in Scotland when it was -4 and we have only ever used butane in the caravan,

I have one bottle of each in my Motor Home

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
its fine to use either in the motorhome without any issues with overhot flames. well tell a lie actually because propane tends to burn a little dirtier in practice with slightly more soot. its not an issue though and most use propane year round or have gaslow refillable cylinders using autogas which is a mixture of both. the percentages of butane to propane in autogas tends to vary for ambient temperature where bought

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I think this is still a bit of a minefield, no pun intended. In general propane is what you want for round the year use. It boils at a much lower temperature. Butane might heat a kettle when it is freezing but it will do so very slowly and certainly won't do anything more with a typical MH stove or heating system. I've huddled in too many tents with my hands wrapped around campinggaz cannisters (butane) to know this is true.

You do need different regulators but the appliances themselves can normally cope with either these days.

Apr 22, 2013
Cotswolds
Funster No
MH
Bailey Approach 625
Exp