Free Member
Nov 30, 2008
Whitby North Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Talbot Express 6 birth
Exp
Since 1970 first van converted police van
Hi we are going to be traveling around in Europe this year in our little camper,
we use Propane at moment, can take some spares but they are the small dumpy Botts don't want to take too much gas in trailer because of the danger in case of accident, so what is the best thing to do no room for bigger bottle,
some one told me that you can a bottle in Europe and get deposit back when you leave the country Can anyone tell me if this is correct please.

Regards George

SoapyTutti

Free Member
Jan 21, 2013
East Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
"I'm a newbie"
George,

Down here in Spain you can get a Spanish bottle and adaptor for around 18 euro gas is around 78 cents a litre at the moment shame you can't get gaslow fitted it would be ideal.

bobandjanie

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 28, 2008
Javea, Spain
Funster No
MH
Pilote V600g
Exp
We have a little camper, and we have 2 x 11kg gas it refillable bottles. :thumb:

http://www.gasit.co.uk/index.php?_a=category&cat_id=2&page=all

In france its easy to buy a gas bottle, you could get your deposit back, but its only about a euro. ::bigsmile:

In spain is not so easy to buy one with a contract, but easy to buy one at a rastro or charity shop, then take it to a garage and exchange for a full one. :Smile:

But I would say refillable bottles are the way to go if your touring.
We have had them for 8 years and never had any problems with the bottles or refilling them in France Holland Denmark Germany Spain or Portugal. :thumb: Bob.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Emmit

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 14, 2009
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Pilote Explorateur
Exp
Jan.2014
Greetings,

Contrary to what has been said, in Spain you can hire (buy) a 6kgs butane bottle from Repsol garages of which there are thousands.