Kryten

Free Member
Jan 18, 2014
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie but did own one in 2003. Been into camping for many years.
Hey peeps!

I'm still motorhome-less atm and am looking to hopefully get one later this year (once I've paid my car loan off! :RollEyes:) but would like to know what you all reckon...

Should I go for a new one or second-hand? Obviously, if money was no object I'd like to get a nice brand new shiny one but is it really worth doing that, given that it will lose value immediately after driving it out of the showroom!? :Sad:

The one major thing I like about going for a new one is the fact that I could get it at 0% finance! :Smile: I will probably end up going for a really old cheap thing first to see how I get on.

camocam1

Free Member
Aug 28, 2012
Elgin,Moray,Scotland
Funster No
MH
bailey approach 760 se
Exp
since 2012
Do you homework and look at lots of vans there are plenty of low milage 2nd hand vans out there
Make a list of what you want in a van then make a check list so you can see which vans tick the boxes

Upvote 0

Allanm

Free Member
Jun 30, 2013
Cotes d'armor, France
Funster No
MH
Burstner Harmony TI 736 G
Exp
Since 1987
This really is an impossible question to answer. Obviously a used one will be a good deal and you will save a lot. There are some very good very low mileage vehicles around, even some at 20 years old still have loads of life left in them, but, at that age, mechanicals start to wear and you can expect some sort of ongoing maintenance.
New vans? Well, you lose at least 20% of the value as soon as you put the key in the ignition ( Vat) If you can take the hit, thats great. We did and it doesn't bother me, we intend to keep the van till it falls apart, or I win the lottery ( so, forever then!) But, you get to order the spec you want and you know exactly how its been used. No mot's for 3 years and no ones used the toilet!