Indian and Chinese takeaway cooking (1 Viewer)

kex66

Free Member
Jan 29, 2012
cheshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
I've been cooking for many years now and have a passion for reproducing the flavours of Indian and Chinese takeaways.

The two sites that have really brought my cooking skills forward are:

Chinese Cooking - http://www.khoanvong.com/

Indian Cooking - http://www.youtube.com/user/leviteish/videos

You need to make the "base gravy" first for the Indian cooking but it's well worth the effort:thumb:

Hope this helps

Addie

Trader - Motorhome Wifi
Oct 15, 2011
York
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
About 10 years ago I was invited "behind the scenes" in my local Indian take away to cook my own curry. A lot of it is pre/semi-prepared to speed things up so cooking these from scratch often involves lots of pans, packs of spices and so forth and not always practical in the van.

A little trick I use for the motorhome is Laziza spice mixes. I'm fortunate enough to have a shop which sells these relatively locally for 99p a pack but you can buy them online too (below). There is nothing in them but dry spices in the correct quantities for the curry that you're making. Just add Ghee (essential), onions, garlic, ginger (or Laziza garlic ginger paste) fresh tomatoes and chills.

I spend all summer making Seekeh Kebabs, Tandori Chicken and Lamb and Masala Fish on the Cadac.

http://www.abubakarstore.co.uk/adva...words=Laziza+&search_in_description=1&x=4&y=9

I love curry!

Feb 26, 2013
Pinar de Campoverde, Spain
Funster No
MH
Giottiline T60
Exp
Since March 2013
About 10 years ago I was invited "behind the scenes" in my local Indian take away to cook my own curry. A lot of it is pre/semi-prepared to speed things up so cooking these from scratch often involves lots of pans, packs of spices and so forth and not always practical in the van.