Dried Figs....Friend or Foe !!! (1 Viewer)

OP
OP
Stephen & Jeannie

Stephen & Jeannie

Free Member
Aug 27, 2008
Gobowen near Oswestry !!
Funster No
MH
Sold and bought a Caravan
Exp
9 years !!!!
One packet !! Currently looking at immersing the little buggers in some Red wine, lemon and Orange zest along with some sugar for an hour or so ! similar to pears !

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Momo

Free Member
Sep 19, 2008
Valencia City, Spain
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie.
Looking for recipes for dried figs !! Sensible please.....:winky::winky::winky:

I use them as a "sweetmeat" which can be served with coffee after a meal or as an appetizer with drinks before a meal:

Just slit and stuff with hazelnuts! Absolutely delicious! :thumb:

Also serve this way to accompany cava after coffee!

Last edited:

peter H

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 18, 2008
Neath, South Wales
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Nearly 4 years
Soak them overnight in something alcoholic, like earl grey tea and grand marnier. Then crumble topping and serve with custard. Nice and warming for a cold winter day lunchtime.

Alternatively after soaking in stout overnight, wrap in smoked streaky bacon, then 20 mins in hot oven. Great nibbles with a glass of something.

Peter

Mousy

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 13, 2013
Sa15 2DG
Funster No
MH
Hymer S840 Merc auto
Exp
Since 2013
I'd add them to a savoury dish, try chicken marinated in olive oil, white wine (or white wine vinegar) chopped rosemary and thyme, chopped dates, dried apricots, olives, brown sugar, chopped red onion, salt and pepper, chuck it all in a bowl leave for as long as you've got then cover with foil and bake in oven til cooked. Serve with cous cous which you've added toasted nuts, fried onions to.

It all sounds like a car crash but it eats well, it's kind off Moroccan inspired.

OP
OP
Stephen & Jeannie

Stephen & Jeannie

Free Member
Aug 27, 2008
Gobowen near Oswestry !!
Funster No
MH
Sold and bought a Caravan
Exp
9 years !!!!