Free Member
Dec 18, 2010
east sussex
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
a few years
News in the papers today say prepare for blackouts at home in the future.
Those of us with a motorhome in the drive with a couple of fully charged batteries and a solar panel and plenty of gas may well be able to seek sanctuary
for a few hours/days with all mod cons.heating/cooking/tv etc.

But I would think we might have a few generator experts here.....so what are the options for a generator that would keep the home going..something for a domestic house. ( if thats not asking too much ) certainly keeping the freezers going..providing lights and enough for a tv and basic comfort.

We cook with gas.......so that wouldnt be a prob......given Im not an expert at electrics ....what are your thoughts ?

barry:Smile:

Feb 22, 2008
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Nearly Tugging
Exp
Since 2004
We have a 2.2kw 4 stroke genny cost around ÂŁ120 from Makro.
In the event of a power cut , switch off main breaker and feed genny into 13a socket, enough power to run some lights , heating pump and fridge freezers etc. :thumb:we had a cut during last years Christmas holiday and were the only house in the street with our lights on ::bigsmile:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Do I take it that its a debatable thing to do ?
barry

In the way described it's so dangerous no-one in their right mind would do it.

Basically it means a mains lead with a plug at each end. Quite lethal.

Then it relies on turning the right switch off. If the mains came on and the main breaker had not been turned off there would be a quite a bang.

If the mains is off due to cable faults there are other safety issues.

A safe option, is an extension lead with multi socket, just unplug from mains and plug into generator.

Papajohn is the resident expert, ask him.

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988