Free Member
Nov 22, 2013
South glos
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi everyone. We are toying with the idea of buying a motorhome. We have found one we think would be suitable & might go up & view this weekend. We have been caravanners for 15 yrs & know nowt about motorhoming. I have a few concerns I hope you can help us with? The motorhome we might view is a 6 berth 93 Talbot Landliner. We have 5 children but the oldest is 18 & rarely comes away with us. She has had one or two of the younger girls (12 & 14) staying home with her for one or two nights this year & it all worked out ok. I like the idea of visiting my parents in Ireland & would want to take all the children with us. My question is is it legal for 7 to travel in a 6 berth? I was thinking my 2 yr old could go up front with hubby. Myself & the 3 middle children could use the side dinette seats & maybe the eldest could sit in the middle of the "u" shape seating at the back? Is it possible to fit a seat belt here? Would it be legal?
Ok so the next concern is parking! Is it a nightmare to find anywhere to park (total length of motorhome is 23ft) when visiting new towns/coastal areas? Would we have to choose sites within walking distance of places? We would be visiting the south/south west for our first few journeys.

Sorry for waffling on, hope you can help before we take the plunge :Smile:

Oct 29, 2012
essex
Funster No
MH
Rapido 9090df
Exp
20 years (unless you count my dads VW which makes it 52 years with a few gaps!!)
if you search "seatbelts" you will see numerous threads on the subject.
Basically seatbelts must be worn, if they are fitted but on vehicles after 07 passengers must be in designated seats . its quite an emotive subject as you will probably find out shortly::bigsmile:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007