Free Member
Jul 30, 2013
South Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Compass Avangarde 150
Exp
I'm a newbie.
Hi. I have a Compass Avantgaurd 150, 2009 reg and having a terrible time accessing the spare wheel. I can't see anything in the hand book that remotely resembles the spare wheel carriage let alone information describing how to access this spare wheel. Although the description given is written in English it completely incomprehensible. The van I'm sure as most of you will know is built on Peugeot Boxer base and has a 2.2 diesel turbo engine. Any advise would be gratefully received.:Confused:

Sep 26, 2013
Market Rasen
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2003
Perhaps you could say where the spare wheel is located, is it also a Peugeot chassis with the spare wheel underneath at the rear?

Mike

brynric

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2009
Worcestershire
Funster No
MH
Pilote G600
Exp
By co-incidence I had to access the spare wheel from my Fiat Ducato this morning. It wasn't a happy experience.
The Fiat spare is carried under the van, in the centre just behind the rear axle. I don't know if it's the same on toys, there may be variations.
I have a long "jack handle" with a square end which passes through the plastic skirt and engages with a winding box which lowers the wheel. You then hook out the wheel and undo the nut which holds the winding cable to the wheel.
I did a fair amount of grovelling and knuckle scraping. I did eventually get it free and fitted the spare but it was a grubby experience. Swearing at the mechanism only helped a little.
If it's the same principle, best of luck.
Bryn

OP
OP
G

grymbo

Free Member
Jul 30, 2013
South Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Compass Avangarde 150
Exp
I'm a newbie.
Thanks for all the replies. Sounds like the Fiat Ducata situation as described by brynric. Will have another go tomorrow and if unsuccessful will take some pics. Cheers Guys.:thumb:

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid