Free Member
Oct 24, 2013
Southampton
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Pretty simple question for those in the know I'm sure, do the 3 pin household sockets in motorhomes work off the leisure battery or only on hook up? If not, do I need a 12v tv to use it away from sites?

Thanks

estcres

Free Member
Oct 9, 2007
Sunny Bournemouth
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since 2005
As far as I am aware the 230v sockets only work on Hook Up.

You could you an Inverter to change from 12v - 230v but it will drain your battery.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
the leisure battery supplies 12volts DC for the lights etc

the 3 pin sockets are 220volt AC to power anything up to a low wattage kettle

if you want 220volts from a battery you need an inverter, but they use up the power in a battery very quickly

normally you will only get mains voltage when plugged into the mains electric hookup :thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

buffallobill

Free Member
Sep 21, 2013
skipton
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since2007
if we dont have mains hook up, sometimes we start the portable generator to charge batteries and watch mains telly at the same time.:thumb:

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Ref your question on TV...

You dont NEED a 12v one, If it was then that would be a bonus.. But modern LED TV's are very low power and you use a small plug in inverter from a cigarette lighter socket..

ex... LED mains only TV from supermarket / online . Sub £100
http://direct.asda.com/Polaroid-15.6ins-HD-Ready-LED-TV/000534037,default,pd.html

150w Inverter off ebay/ online / maplins from £15 ish..
Link Removed

cmcardle75

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 8, 2012
Reading
Funster No
MH
Riot Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2012