Sep 6, 2013
Dorset
Funster No
MH
Sprinter van
Exp
"I'm a newbie"
Hi all, just bought myself a Merc Sprinter 2011 Mwb with the rear step
I need to fit a tow bar so I can tow my boat, I like to do trail aways for fishing as this is my hobby
I thought this shouldnt be too difficult to fit my own towbar as I did so before on my VW Transporter
Well it seems things have moved on and now I have to have a vehicle specific wireing kit VSE whereas I had an universal set up in the T5 and now this comes into the MOT test also so no way round it
I think the idea is to ensure all towing vehicles will have on dash monitoring of trailer tail light bulbs
Personally I always check my lights whenever I hook up so not sure what all the fuss is about??
Anyways Ive come round to the idea of VSE and thought that would be an end to it but then i'm told a VSE kit won't be compatible with the LED lights on my trailer! I can't catch a break here and i'm certaintly not ditching my LED's as i'm really chuffed with them, much brighter and more reliable almost industructable and even waterproof
So if anyone can advise on a solution here I would be very grateful, one other thing is that I read that I need to protect the ECU in my van from faults on the trailer? How do I do that?

Thanks for any help

Arty.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Hi Arty, you are part correct regarding the towing electrics.

if you use a 7 pin socket then it is NOT an MOT point

a 13 pin socket is a testable item but has nothing to do with bulb failure warning.

there is nothing to stop you using a universal CanBus bypass relay kit but it does mean tapping into the existing wires....really not an issue if you use decent connectors.

the dedicated wiring kit comes with OE plugs and sockets so unplug from the lights and plug in the new harness then plug the other end of the new harness into the original harness which you unplugged off the lights.