Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I am a Newbie to motorhomes but have caravaned for years
Having recently acquired a 2008 Autocruise Gleneagle which is in really good condition I decide to set about it and eliminate any rusty bits both out of view and in view.
The first task was the underneath so I drove my Motorhome up onto the also newly acquired Milenco Quattro levelling ramps. Great fun was had grovelling underneath with an ice cream tub of clear Waxoyl and a handy brush. The main chassis was fine as I suppose it is galvanised so I dabbed away at various nuts and bolts and screws that looked vaguely rusty including towbar fittings. The worst bit was the metal support for the waste tank which were rectangle shaped hollow bars which had been powder coated but had flaking paint. A mental note was made to take them off one by one and get some waxoyl inside the cavities, obviously when the tank was empty!!. I covered every brake pipe in sight and it was useful to see what was where under the van. Also noted was no insulation on the plastic waste pipes feeding the tank so that is another job on the list. I found out that the handbrake cable runs to the back and operates on the rear disc brakes, so the cable linkages were also covered. I greased the two nipples at either end of the tube which link the left suspension with the right.

Under the front was harder as the engine drops down further than the back and my portly frame got in the way but I managed to get at most items including the brackets for the mini steps on the front doors which were unprotected. I was interesting to see the eight bolts on each side linking up the cab chassis and the Alko back end.

After a day or two break my next task was the wheels. As the van has steel wheels and the cost of buying a set of alloys is high I resolved to remove the wheels and trims and have a go at the rusty wheels seen through the Peugeot trims.