Water through roof light (1 Viewer)

Oct 2, 2012
Shoreham by sea
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Found water coming though front roof light to day so went to motor home place and got some adhesive tape, Are the windows easy to get out got to do it tomorrow they said a good quality sealant would be go enough to seal round the edge Is there a right or wrong way to do It thanks
Gary.

Merle

Free Member
Mar 31, 2013
Wiltshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since 2008
I took mine right out (removed internal coverings to expose fixing screws) cleaned as much of the old adhesive off as I could then bedded it back on with Sikaflex caravan adhesive. No leaks since. Don't be tempted to use building sealant it reportedly can not cope with the stresses of a moving vehicle

billy

Free Member
Jan 10, 2009
Bolton
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
since 2009
Hi Gary
I have just done mine which was a Remis roof light not sure which one you have got.
But on mine i had to ease the frame off inside the motorhome using a wide blade knife gently working my way around the edge until it poped off(i got help of this site how to do that)

Once i got that off i took all the screws out holding the roof light down then i had to break the old sealing mastic i used a scraper (use it gently) working my way around i put little wedges under to stop it sticking back down.

When you have got it off you have to clean all the old mastic off the roof light and the motorhome roof then put the new mastic strip on the roof light and gently lower the roof light back in the roof.
When you put the screw back screw one in on one side then screw another on the opposite side and so on work your way around don't over tighten when all the screws are in work your way around gently nipping them up buy using opposites this will make sure it is even all around.

I then ran a bead of non setting mastic around the edge of the roof light this and then put the inner frame back on.