First time on CCC site.....WTF (1 Viewer)

Emmenay

Free Member
Dec 11, 2011
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-tiki 600
Exp
Since 2011
Last week I decided to join the CCC so I could stay on a particular site and thought it would be handy for the future.

Within two minutes of arriving on site, I was waiting in the van while the better half signed in, a site warden (lets call him a red shirt) walked passed me and muttered, "Turn your engine off sir". Not 'would you mind' or 'could you' or 'please' or 'thank you'.

Before I could even acknowledge him he had breezed off. Straight away i thought hmmm, that was petty as it wasn't bothering anybody.

Minutes later the red shirt led us to our hardstanding pitch where I drove on as instructed. Red shirt stood in front and stopped me where required.
On turning off the engine (didn't want the same complaint twice), he then asked me to move the van over about 6 inches. Obviousley I had to ask why and told him my reason for asking was I am a complete newbie to CCC and am not yet aware of the rules. He explained that the van needed to be moved to allow room for the awning. Hmmm I thought, I could have just wound it out 6 inches less to keep within the hardstanding.

Anyway, we got set up and even erected our new wind break, what a mistake that was! Another red shirt came strolling meaninfully slow throught the pitch and began a series off tut's and sigh's, he sounded like a plumber that had just been asked an opinion! "You'll have to move that" he said. Again I asked why as I am not yet aware of the rules. "Its the 6 metre rule between pitches so your nylon windbreak overhanging by 1 metre is not allowed, although you can park a car there as its moveable in an emergency". I was dying to ask what is so immovable about the windbreak but thought better of it, but by now I was looking around for Jeremy bleeding Beadle!