Sticky Electric step where to lubricate (1 Viewer)

SoapyTutti

Free Member
Jan 21, 2013
East Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
"I'm a newbie"
Hi Funsters,

We are currently on tour in France in our Autotrail FB Tracker and really enjoying ourselves for the first time in a motorhome however like everywhere else in the world we have had a lot of heavy rain which I think every so often is affecting the electric step on the motorhome due to its location and all the spray battering it receives.

I have used WD40 light engine oil and now a silicon lubricant in all the places visible and it seems to do the trick for a short time until as usual I go to start the engine and the step either sticks in the open position and will not retract.

Do any of you very experienced funsters have any advice for me to cure this once and for all.

Kind Regards

Dave:Smile:

John England

Free Member
Feb 5, 2013
Deal
Funster No
MH
low profile coachbuilt
Exp
two
How old is your motorhome and does it have a Sargent control panel? If around 2010, there was a technical problem with a poly fuse on the printed circuit board, which produces the symptoms you are experiencing. It is necessary to replace the fuse (a soldering job). Sargent will tell you more.

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
How old is your motorhome and does it have a Sargent control panel? If around 2010, there was a technical problem with a poly fuse on the printed circuit board, which produces the symptoms you are experiencing. It is necessary to replace the fuse (a soldering job). Sargent will tell you more.

We had a similar problem with our step ... traced it back to the Sargent unit and after a call to their customer service team they sent me a complete replacement unit which I was able to fit quite easily.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Brisey

Deceased RIP
Sep 4, 2007
Sutton on Sea
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2003