Aug 7, 2012
Tamworth UK
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie!
Hi
We're meeting up with family in Northern Italy and would like to know the best and quickest routes there. Not planning to stop long on the way as will take a more leisurely drive back up to the UK.
Doesn't necessarily need to be France all the way to Italy.

Appreciate your advice :Smile:

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
If you aim for Basel and go straight through Switzerland it costs less to use their Alpine tunnels, as the toll is included in the price of your motorway Carnet.

The French Alpine tunnels (ie Mont Blanc) cost a bloody fortune.

ukbill

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 3, 2011
Pinoso
Funster No
MH
4 berth low profile
Exp
starting on saturday 10/3/2012
france ,belguim ,luxembourg,back into france ,then swiss into italy fuel at both lux and swiss brings u out near lake como

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
Agreed!

Calais, go east through Belgium, into Germany then straight down to the German/Swiss border. Past Lugano then towards Milano.!:thumb:

Good roads all the way, no tolls except for the Swiss Vignette. There are different rules in Switzerland if you are over 3500kg though!

motorhomer

Free Member
May 17, 2008
South Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
since 2005 (but 30 years caravanning)
I agree with the routes.

BUT

How heavy is your van?

Normal motorway vignette in Switzerland is for up to 3500kg. Above that you need the commercial one. Not sure of the latest pricing of these but I would advise checking.

Likewise if you come back through Austria if you are above 3500kg you need a GO box.

Deleted User
I agree with the routes.

BUT

How heavy is your van?