Buying First Motorhome -Advice Please (1 Viewer)

philstoke

Free Member
Jun 27, 2013
stoke on trent
Funster No
MH
dont own one yet
Exp
i'm a newbie
Hi, I am buying my first Motorhome and have found a 1998 Auto Compass Calypso VW Transporter for sale which looks in good condition for a reasonable price.
The only thing is it has a 2370cc 5 cylinder engine and says it is 74bhp.
I don't know much about engines but 74bhp doesnt seem very powerful to me.
Do you think it would struggle up hills even though it is about 2.4l and are there any potential problems with this engine.
Thanks for any comments
Phil

Last edited:

davejen

Free Member
Aug 21, 2008
Preston
Funster No
MH
Given up travelling
Exp
Since 1992
Hi, Phil, welcome to the club, I can't answer your query but someone will be along soon to help. 74bhp does sound low- is it a turbo engine? if so should be quite a bit higher I would have thought.
Cheers, Dave:thumb:

OP
OP
P

philstoke

Free Member
Jun 27, 2013
stoke on trent
Funster No
MH
dont own one yet
Exp
i'm a newbie
It doesnt say turbo so i imagine not, does seem a low bhp for a 2.4l.
I will probably keep looking for a newer one though as I would want it "London Emission Zone Compliant" and it seems that most after 2001 that I have checked the reg. no. online comply.
I am going a bit dizzy searching online and going around dealers, lol.
We only have 19 feet of space for it at the front of our house so I have to find one the right length as well.
Still looking

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Aug 18, 2011
derbys
Funster No
MH
AUTOSLEEPER SYMBOL
Exp
since 2007.Tugger before since 1970
Check where the wooden floor joins the coach built body. Very prone to rot. BUSBY:Smile:

ourcampersbeentrashed

Free Member
Apr 19, 2008
East London
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
well over 5 years
Jim does a motorhome buyer guide, well worth every penny and not too expensive, cant find the link but I am sure another helpful funster will post it.

hilldweller