SatNav question(s) - Total newbie (1 Viewer)

Bridie

Free Member
Jul 26, 2010
Bonnie Dundee
Funster No
MH
Campervan
Exp
Since July 2013
Hi

I have never had/used a car GPS so please bear with me.

Thinking of buying one but wondering how it/they update their maps or anything else for that matter like POIs etc. Is it via your home computer, if so are most Apple compatible?

Thanks

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
update via PC/MAC then upload to satnav unit.

maps can be quite expensive.

my TomTom GO900 is over 7 years old and still running on the original maps.

if a road route has changed (new road, bypasses etc..re: A1M near Leeds) you know you are going to get back on the original road before long so cant really see the point in updating.

last time i did buy maps was for a Navman in 2005 and the maps (Western Europe on disc) were still out of date.....£100 wasted and the reason for buying the TomTom, after Emailing Navman to tell them their product was crap and it was now in the bin.

number of times i smacked it off the windscreen in anger in Spain i'm surprised it still worked at all. :roflmto:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

gypsyrose

Free Member
Jun 22, 2008
Mid Glamorgan
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
30 years plus
After battery going in our Tom Tom, we went for a Garmin which we could not get along with at all!! Fortunately, we had a refund. :winky:
Decided not to spend so much and took a chance on an unknown make (to us) PNavi
Link Removed
Bought from Ebay, yes, free map updates for life, so many excellent features, you would not believe. Manual is pretty useless but good support from the seller means we are more then happy!! :thumb:

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007