Horse power V's weight (1 Viewer)

May 7, 2013
RUK
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
On our 2nd MH now a AutoTrail Savannah which we're absolutely delighted with
Hi -hope this question is not considered too stupid but as a total novice to MHs I think we need guidance on this question. What is considered the optimum horse power for a 3.5T motorhome to provide the best fuel economy. We see engines from 100 hp to 150 hp for this weight and haven't got a clue what is best
Look forward to kind advice
Ian

Dec 28, 2011
Stokesley, North Yorks
Funster No
MH
JoaCamp75Q by Pilote
Exp
Still learning since 2010
The best fuel economy comes by lifting your right foot a little off the accellerator, but I would personally be looking at the 130 to 150 bhp engines so that you aren't working them as hard.

Some people will say that 100 bhp is enough, but I like to be able to hold a higher gear without straining the engine or changing up and down gears to much.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
IanF
May 7, 2013
RUK
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
The best fuel economy comes by lifting your right foot a little off the accellerator, but I would personally be looking at the 130 to 150 bhp engines so that you aren't working them as hard.

Some people will say that 100 bhp is enough, but I like to be able to hold a higher gear without straining the engine or changing up and down gears to much.

Thanks for this advice -did immediately draw a positive response from SWMBO in terms of my right foot! We will not consider anything less than 130 bhp
Thanks again
Ian

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

duane0001

Free Member
Jan 18, 2013
East Coast, North Yorks
Funster No
MH
Expedition 67 soon!
Exp
2021 This time
Mine is a 2.3 120BHP for 3.3T and I would say its more then enough,
But its also down to the number of gears and gear ratio, I can happily up and down dale in 6th

Upvote 0

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs