PP Bear

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 5, 2013
Kent, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto Trail Dakota SE
Exp
I wonder how many millions of pounds have been spent on the paranoia of cam belts. I'm a mechanical engineer so I know that they need to be changed, the service interval, the cost, whether we should also change the water pumps at the same time etc etc etc, but I do wonder if we ever get it right :Doh:

I've a 2006 Autotrail 2.8 JTD and have covered only 13000 miles from new :thumb: and she's now booked in for an MOT, Habitation Check and her cam belt change. I would/should complete it myself as I'm more than qualified and capable, but seeings as I live in the officers mess at Army HQ, have no tools, no garage and especially no special tools, I'll let the dealers do it for me.

I'm curious and will ask for the old one back, just to see the state that it's in, if it's cracked and worn etc, just for curiosity and then feedback here to share with the other Funsters kind enough to read my posts.

I'm also at that age whereby I don't want to be under the bonnet of my baby, scraping knuckles, swearing with the crack of my butt on display to the world and waking up the next day all stiff in the joints from excessive mechanical exertion.......nope better to pay and let the other experts do the task for me ::bigsmile:.

So i shall let the lovely Laura at Tilshead Caravans Ltd, Salisbury, do the work for me and I can be busy marching up and down the parade square, just like a good soldier should.

Quoted Costs:

MOT £54.85 inc VAT.
Cam-belt £319 inc VAT (need to confirm the water pump yet).
Habitation Check (including bits and bobs) £175 inc VAT.

More to follow once I'm back from my Canadian adventures this weekend, oh and I know what your thinking and fully agree, spending a few hundred now is FAR better than thousands if it breaks::bigsmile:

www.tilshead-caravans.com

OP
OP
PP Bear

PP Bear

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 5, 2013
Kent, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto Trail Dakota SE
Exp