Any advice before we take the plunge? (1 Viewer)

foo76

Free Member
Mar 19, 2013
Bedforshire
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
We have a young family, 2 kids, and are thinking of taking the plunge and buying a 2nd hand motorhome in the hope we'll get more quality time together.

Although we hired a MH in New Zealand a few years ago, the thought of shelling out for our own is a little daunting. So any advice would be much appreciated.

We have our eye on a Swift Escape 624, 2009 plate. Is there anything I should particularly watch out for or be mindful of? Does anyone have any experience of this model? I've read that this is at the budget end of the Swift range and wondered how this would affect any haggling. Any ideas on a reasonable price to pay, and/or similar models to look out for?

One thing I'm a little apprehensive of is using the MH for everyday tasks whilst we're on holiday, parking in Supermarkets, tourist attractions, that sort of thing; what are people's experiences?

Generally, any advice for a newbie would be great. Thanks!

ourcampersbeentrashed

Free Member
Apr 19, 2008
East London
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
well over 5 years
Hi and welcome

The £10 membership is well worth every penny and you get discounts on motorhome shows and lots of other things like insurance too.

Jim our leader does a good motorhome buying guide.

Why not come to the Peterborough motorhome show, there will be loads to view and you can meet those funsters attending. You will know funsters by their yellow smilie badges xxxx

As for buying advice there are loads of threads and posts on here so have a good read through.

I would suggest that you make sure you vehicle is LEZ compliant by using the TFL website.

Make sure you try everything out in the motorhome before you buy, including the beds as they do vary in size

Good luck

Upvote 0

grasscutter

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 11, 2009
East Wittering. West Sussex.
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis i588
Exp
Started in 1980