Considering a Carbon Monoxide Alarm (1 Viewer)

stevensson10

Banned
Jul 9, 2012
normanton
Funster No
MH
fiat ducatti auto rller 5
Exp
im a newbie
allthough our motorhome is certified habitational through the wake of three peolples unfortunate demise demise due to carbon monoxide .iam considering putting an alarm in our van to be doubly sure is there any funsters out there who have opinions on this subject i would like to hear from them kind regards steve:Blush:

JockandRita

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 2, 2007
Lincs/Cambs border
Funster No
MH
N+B Flair 8000i
Exp
Since May 05 (Ex Tuggers).
allthough our motorhome is certified habitational through the wake of three peolples unfortunate demise demise due to carbon monoxide .iam considering putting an alarm in our van to be doubly sure is there any funsters out there who have opinions on this subject i would like to hear from them kind regards steve:Blush:
Hi Steve,

I'm not sure if you meant to post your question the the "Morning Funsters" thread. If you didn't, Jim will move it for you to the right forum, if you wish. :Smile:

Although all heating type appliances are flued to the outside, I still install a CO detector. If there was a leak of any CO fumes to the interior at all, Rita and I would never know about it, without the detector.
This is one of the reasons you should "NEVER" use gas hob rings, or the oven to heat the interior of your MH/Caravan, ie, due to the intense build up of odourless and colourless.................but extremely toxic CO fumes, which often results in fatalities. It is the silent killer. :Eeek: They are even worse when gas appliances aren't operating correctly.
The use of a type approved CO detector, will give you and your family peace of mind, and an early warning to any possible leakage of fumes, just in the same manner your installed smoke detector looks after you..............but they are only as good as the battery installed within them. Some have a 5 x year battery.

Stay safe, :thumb: