Pro's and con's of older motorhomes advice pls. (1 Viewer)

4matt

Free Member
Jan 15, 2013
East Riding
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie in my second year.
I have had a bit of a look round and searched a few topics finding some interesting comments about owning and running older Motorhomes. While reading various topics I have found that more questions than answers for me were raised.

While reading one topic for instance, "Be careful which Breakdown service you choose" The warning was about MH over twenty years old. But left me wondering which provider covers vans that age or older.

MH's based on Talbot vans Coach built. "Parts may be hard to source" isn't that the same for all old van's even fords. Vans have evolved much like cars have in the past twenty years, most now completely different than those even ten years old.

I am considering a 17 year old MH on a Fiat base. Now I have owned fiat cars and have driven Fiat vans from around that time and although comfortable they did have a reputation back then as unreliable. The old joke being FIAT stood for "Fix it again Tuesday". My experience with Fiat was good on both occasions I had cars even though some maintenance was necessary and to replace broken parts. On the whole they were both reliable. The vans were all fine too even though I had nothing to do with their service and Maintenance.

Maybe those people who run older MH's could give me there views about owning and running one this age. For instance,How do the low emission zone's affect you for instance. Have many of you had work done to get round this. Do you trust your vans in Europe? Have any of you had trouble while in Europe. Any advice about older MH's gratefully received.

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
Hi there 4matt.