France - to book or not to book? (1 Viewer)

Humphrey Hymer

Free Member
Dec 9, 2012
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Hymer T625
Exp
Just got our first motorhome and intending to go to France this August. We are thinking of Eurotunnel and exploring eastern France down to the Alps. Would I be best off to plan an itinery and book up sites in advance or just play it by ear and go with the flow? Many thanks.

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
Don't book, it limits your flexibility and, I always find it stressful if I have to be at a particular place at a particular time. The places you find by accident are always the best anyway.

I have been touring France for around 30 years and have never booked anything and never had a problem.

Upvote 0

lesleyjean

Free Member
Jun 21, 2008
Funster No
MH
A class
Never been to France in August. But!

The French take their annual leave in August and the roads and sites I believe are quite busy.

Cannot really advise you, but thought I would throw a spanner::bigsmile:::bigsmile:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
France ! August !
I have never been and would not like to then... As said the French all take their holidays so it's busy.... If there is somewhere particular you want to visit I would book. Any other time of the year apart from August just go, never had any issues with getting a placement.

Upvote 0

lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
Hi and welcome to fun