Waste water in winter - solution needed (1 Viewer)

Branston1080

Free Member
Oct 30, 2012
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
3 years
Here's the issue, how do I manage my waste water tank in winter?
I work away from home in the week and I have just started using my motorhome as my accommodation.
I'm on a long term pitch and therefore not moving the van ( no service point anyway).
My tank is under slung but there is a heated vent to hopefully prevent it freezing. As I'm new to this and have no experience of winter camping I'm unsure of the best way forward.
Do I keep the tank closed and heated and drain and empty when required or should I keep the tank open so it just drains?
If I do the latter what's the best container to go for and how do I cope with freezing temperatures?
I know these are all probably ridiculous questions but I'm worried about freezing pipes/ damage.
Any suggestions welcome ::bigsmile:

darklord

Free Member
Apr 28, 2011
essex
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
three years
To avoid any problems, I would open the outlet on your waste tank, and let it drain into something else, a waste hog, bucket, other plastic container. This is cheaper option than heating the tank etc, and will save you worrying about it.

f6c

Nov 7, 2010
gloucestershire
Funster No
MH
Carthago Malibu 640
Exp
23 Years
Have to agree with Darklord I use a bucket had no mechanical failure yet:winky:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
always use a bucket in winter as a closed tank will just freeze solid preventing emptying and potentially splitting as the ice expands:thumb:

OP
OP
Branston1080

Branston1080

Free Member
Oct 30, 2012
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
3 years
Bucket doesn't fit under

Thanks for the responses, it looks like the 'bucket' is the way forward!
Standard bucket too tall to fit under van.
Is it ok to attach a hose?

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk