Free Member
Dec 10, 2008
Preston
Funster No
MH
Swift Coachbuilt
Exp
since 2002
I've been carrying a 125cc scooter on a rack for a few years now, but age and the need for more comfortable, and dry, travel has cemented the idea of towing a car in the future. Rang about 4 of the main suppliers but only one responded and didn't answer my questions. My camper is a 6 metre 2.3hp Ducato weighing in at 3500Kg gross. We already have a Nissan Micra diesel car and I would like to tow it. But will it be ok? Also not sure about the difference between the over-run system or the more expensive one. (not sure what it's called) I understand they now have to be EU 2014 compliant, operating all four wheel brakes - that doesn't sound like the over-run system used on caravans. Any advice on tow-cars would be greatly appreciated. Sunty.

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
This is mine........Legal anywhere in the world :Cool:.

Attachments

• Joyner 650 Buggy 001.jpg
    Joyner 650 Buggy 001.jpg
    100.5 KB · Views: 36
  • Joyner 650 Buggy 002.jpg
    Joyner 650 Buggy 002.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 32

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Have you first of all checked what your permitted towing (train) weight is? Including any towing mechanism you choose? You'll have to have an way of braking if you use an A-frame of some sort as the Micra will certainly be over the 750kg non-braked limit.

Also, if you intend to take the car to Europe with you I'd suggest re-thinking as towing one vehicle with another is illegal in some countries, Spain for one.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
the over run system is exactly the same as used on caravans and normal trailers.