Jul 12, 2012
Staffs
Funster No
MH
Burstner A class 3 berth
Exp
since 2004 caravans before that
Hi everyone

On the way to Annecy soon from Calais. Got route planned up to a point but would like some help finding attractive aires with easy flat cycling to nearby towns/beauty spots perhaps by lakes, rivers or canals. Have three weeks to meander down and back. Noticed a few in aires book but would love some personal recommendations.

(Realised I'd put this in the wrong place but have managed to transfer it. I'm a bit of a novice!)

Apr 12, 2010
Bury St Edmunds, West Suffolk
Funster No
MH
Weinsberg Cara
Exp
since 2007
Calais to Annecy

:Smile: Hi you lucky people, we just did this trip and more besides. Annecy is a lovely town on the lake and very cycle freindly. Lots of places to stay, but our route took us through, Alsace,fantastic, down the eastern borders with Germany, Switzerland and Austria. Regions such as the Jura, Rhone alps, etc were stunning, just kept getting better, too many to reccommend, but using the Aires and France passion worked a treat. If you go into the Dordogne, Sarlat is a must, and Perigueux has an aire right on the river 5 mins from town, and a great Saturday market AM.
Have a good time.
Phil and Gill :Smile:

May 7, 2011
Cornwall Gorran Haven
Funster No
MH
T Line 785
Exp
motorhoming since 1979
Hi , Try Catillon sur Sambre , 2 aires 1 canalside 5or 6 euros with electric, the other gloryfide car park but only just across the road behind some buildings free, we stayed at canalside one a lovely aire ( have a look at my photo album France loire 2011) Terry:Cool:

Also nice lakeside aire just a few miles from Annecy called La Balme de Sillingy with bar and some lovely walks etc

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 4, 2010
Essex / central France
Funster No
MH
Hymer Star Line 680
Exp
9 years
Hello

Here's a canal map of France, there are over 6000 km's of them http://www.eurocanals.com/Waterways/francewaterwaysm.html