Feb 17, 2011
chester
Funster No
MH
Auto Trail Scout
Exp
i'm a newbie
Hi
we're thinking of buying a 2005 auto trail chieftain se 2.8, can any one give an indication as to the MPG we can expect, any other comments on the chieftain, good or bad would be appriciated.

thanks

chris

Last edited:

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)
Hi Chris never had one but mate has one and he likes it :thumb: expect around 20/22 ish mpg driven carefully :winky:
terry

chugginchubby

Free Member
Jun 18, 2012
Yeovil Somerset
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Five years
Hi we have had our Chieftain G since 07 . We are its second owner .and it ticked all our boxes for what we wanted. Although it is a 6 berth I feel it would be cramped if 6 people were together in there. We brought it mainly for the space for two of us and to be able to carry all our stuff without being over weight. We did not want a tow car so we brought a small motor bike which fits nicely in the garage. Being a six wheeler it is nice to drive our mpg is about 25/28 , very impressed. Being in the garage trade have known this engine for sometime and find it reliable and bullet proof and not to difficult to maintain. Hope this helps.
Rich

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Brian and Jo

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 24, 2007
oswestry,shropshire
Funster No
MH
A-Class N+B Arto 88F
Exp
Been motorhoming for 15yrs.had an American RV for 7yrs,Now got a Niesmann Bischoff Arto 88F
MPG

Hi there we used to own a cheiftain 2006 model with a 2.8 engine and it was returning about 20mpg.
regards brian jo and josh

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)
Hi Chris have a look at this post Broken Link Removed it may make you think a bit longer :winky:
terry

keith

Free Member
Aug 25, 2007
Ecclefechan
Funster No
MH
Autocruise Starseeker
Exp
Caravaning since 1974 - Motorhoming since 2003