Free Member
Jun 16, 2012
Jersey
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
I am buying a motorhome in France and planning to collect it, take three weeks holiday with it and return home to Jersey after my holiday, where I will have the lights etc modified for UK driving and a Jersey registration number issued after inspection by our local DVLS. My problem is that whilst I can get insurance for a day in Jersey allowing me to bring it in, I cannot get it insured properly until it has been registered by our DVLS. Does anyone know of an insurance company that will cover me for three weeks in France driving the vehicle on European plates? I'm supposed to pick it up in a fortnight and am starting to get a little desperate!! Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated

Addie

Trader - Motorhome Wifi
Oct 15, 2011
York
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm not aware of an english insurance company that will cover you on foreign plates.

Safeguard will cover the VIN number of your vehicle for 30 days while you get it registered and then insure it on its UK plate, but this insurance only begins when you exit the ferry in Dover.

The Germans are very efficient at this, being as they produce so many cars, and you can easily obtain "Ausfuhrkennzeichen" plates (export plates) which come with the minimum level of third party insurance. I suspect there many be a French equivalent given that France also produces new cars.

I'd be interested in the outcome as by chance, I'm also looking at a privately owned french registered motorhome but had in part written it off as it just looks a bit of a nightmare!

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
yes right about the Germans

I'm not aware of an english insurance company that will cover you on foreign plates.