Electrical Problem on 5th Wheeler (1 Viewer)

MrJinks

Free Member
Sep 1, 2008
Dorchester, Dorset
Funster No
MH
C Class RV
Exp
6 years
Hi All,

Fifth Wheeler staying on our CL site at the moment. Has been here for a couple of weeks with no problems. Now every time he attempts to hook-up to electric, it trips out the supply. It even trips out the main house trip for the caravan supply which never normally happens.

I am no electrician and we have checked the obvious......hook-up lead and plugs checked ok. Tried switching all appliances off ( and 110 volt fridge) to maybe find the culprit but still trips. Even with the 240 volt supply in the fiver isolated it is still tripping at the hook-up point when he tries to hook-up. We have tried other hook-up points and same thing happens but other vans not causing any probs so sure it is his van.

Any advice before his wife files for divorce :Eeek:

thanks

May 16, 2010
North Hykeham
Funster No
MH
Custom
Exp
much more now
If you have "isolated" the 240V and it still is tripping then the fault must lie between the input socket and the board.....see if they can see the wiring...has it been chewed by rats/mice etc? Has it ben crushed by something?

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
when I had this issue a few weeks back it was suggested

A few weeks back it was suggested that my transformer box had failed when I had a similar issue.

It turn out on mine the main wiring run had been sliced through.. never found out how it happened.. another story.

Anway.. I spoke at the time to Alex at Calder Leisure and he felt it may be my transformer box... which as we know it was not and Eddie at VanBitz sorted for me.