LIFE MEMBER
Apr 4, 2009
South Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
chic c line
Exp
12 years motorhoming, a lifetime of living
Been given my nieces laptop to mend, it hasn’t worked for a while, so mugins offerd to fix it!!

It boots to the recovery cd ok, the proper set is missing but I have a set that from a very similar machine (both Toshiba satellite p4’s so it should be ok)

It does the loading of windows bit, but on reboot from hard drive it goes BSOD

Error STOP )x0000007b ( 0xf9E512640, 0xc000000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

That’s about it, I did think it might have been the hard drive, so I swopped it out with my portable drive, same problem, and the laptop drive seemed to work ok in the portable housing.

I’m guessing either board failure? But why will it work with the recovery cd and only stops on booting from window xp hard drive?

Or bios failure/corruption/virus? But I have no experience there

Seems a big shame to bin it, anybody got any suggestions?

browne4573

Free Member
Aug 23, 2011
north east scotland
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
Been given my nieces laptop to mend, it hasn’t worked for a while, so mugins offerd to fix it!!

It boots to the recovery cd ok, the proper set is missing but I have a set that from a very similar machine (both Toshiba satellite p4’s so it should be ok)

It does the loading of windows bit, but on reboot from hard drive it goes BSOD

Error STOP )x0000007b ( 0xf9E512640, 0xc000000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

That’s about it, I did think it might have been the hard drive, so I swopped it out with my portable drive, same problem, and the laptop drive seemed to work ok in the portable housing.

I’m guessing either board failure? But why will it work with the recovery cd and only stops on booting from window xp hard drive?

Or bios failure/corruption/virus? But I have no experience there

Seems a big shame to bin it, anybody got any suggestions?