Free Member
Oct 6, 2011
cumbria
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
hi I'm a newbie, what kind of Sat Nav should I purchase, I have used a Tom Tom in the past, but, should I buy one that's made for Caravans and Motorhomes. They look more expensive, are they worth it.

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.
Funster No
MH
None.
Exp
4yrs
I thought I'd need a special motorhome one so bought one--and still use 5 year old TomTom.

Madmark62

Free Member
Sep 28, 2011
Wakefield West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Winnebago Lesharo
Exp
I`m a newbie
hi I'm a newbie, what kind of Sat Nav should I purchase, I have used a Tom Tom in the past, but, should I buy one that's made for Caravans and Motorhomes. They look more expensive, are they worth it.

In my opinion they are not worth it. You can download the POI for Tom tom that tell you the width, height restrictions etc.
Or buy one of these.

Link Removed

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Oct 12, 2011
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Lowline
Exp
Since 2011 therefore I'm not a newbie anymore
I use a Garmin Dezl T560, which allows you to change from motorhome to car use.

Good product, but previous sat nav was a Tom Yom which TOH preferred.

look at the Tom Tom web site, they are about to launch a similar product for around £350 - the Garmin was £329

bobh

Free Member
Jun 18, 2011
Powys
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Several Years
Tom Tom have started selling a specific camper caravan satnav from to-day but at £399.99 best to leave it for a while it may come down once Amazon get hold of it

DuxDeluxe

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 10, 2008
Planet Zog
Funster No
MH
A woosh bang van
Exp
since 2008
I've used a Tom Tom and simply be aware of road signs......:winky:

Just installed a Pioneer Appradio 2 in the machine and use Nav free satnav as an app on the iBone. Works really well, plus I now have a fully integrated phone and my entire music library sounding really good. Not to everyone's taste but I like it.