Forest River products - Quality? Problems?... (2 Viewers)

Maverick355

Free Member
Apr 13, 2012
Preston, Lancashire
Funster No
MH
5th Wheel
Exp
Hi all,

Im new to the 'scene', just posted my first thread in the introductions forum.

We (me and the missus!) are on the hunt for a 5th wheel setup, weve done a fair bit of research and decided that the US truck / camper route is best for us, space is important, headroom very important, etc. Got a truck in our sights and also looking for a 'nice' 5'er - not new, but tidy, you know what I mean Im sure.

Anyway, Ive seen a lot of Forest River products for sale on the internet (dealers, ebay etc) and they look very good from the pictures, but I wondered if anyone had any first hand experience of them and (more importantly) had any bad experiences? Were looking at Flagstaff, Rockwood and Wildcat units predominantely. 30-32 feet in length, probably with a bunkhouse for our little un. And around 20-22k which means 2008ish models I guess.

I bought an RV rating software (from www.rv.org - anyone else use this?) and the comments on ANY Forest River product are terrible... Similar comments (worse even!) for the Keystone products. But they are probably the most common products out there, so they cant be all that bad, can they?...

Just looking for some advice really.
Cheers everyone, we're looking forward to being part of this community!
Simon, Elaine & Alfie

Griffs

Free Member
Aug 15, 2007
SOUTH WALES
Funster No
MH
a class
Exp
since 2007
5 wheel

Hi.

We used to have a fifth wheel , a mistake because it was not matched properly i.e. short wheelbase truck whitch means if you turn to sharp you WILL pop the rear window of the truck

There was a Wildcat on ebay last week very nice to, also Mercury rv in Kent have a nice long wheel base truck in stock,if we were to have a fifth wheel again it would be a globestormer from the fifth wheel company plus a Dodge truck.