Free Member
Apr 2, 2012
Streatham
Funster No
MH
bedford rascal nipper
Exp
I'm a newbie
I am shortly going to set of in my mini camper for the first time. I'm not going with a set plan. Just seeing where the van takes me. Two questions:-
Firstly,My van will be my transport during the day and so I'm wondering what the etiquette is regarding reserving your pitch if you are returning to the same site?
Secondly, Is it legal to just park up if you're in transit and can't find a site? My van is the size of a normal car and someone told me the police had said it was perfectly legal if you didn't discharge waste or cause a disturbance. does anyone know if this is true?

Aug 27, 2009
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
40 years
I am shortly going to set of in my mini camper for the first time. I'm not going with a set plan. Just seeing where the van takes me. Two questions:-
Firstly,My van will be my transport during the day and so I'm wondering what the etiquette is regarding reserving your pitch if you are returning to the same site?
Secondly, Is it legal to just park up if you're in transit and can't find a site? My van is the size of a normal car and someone told me the police had said it was perfectly legal if you didn't discharge waste or cause a disturbance. does anyone know if this is true?
I have a small toilet tent that I leave on the pitch, it fits into a shoe box and only takes two mins to erect. It is also very handy for storage while on the site. As far as stop-over etiquette, as long as you are sensible and considerate, you should have no problems. I often do it and have never been challenged, this is one of the benefits of having a small van.

Carol

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 2, 2007
North Wales.
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
18 years s Motorhome (33years caravans)
There are various signs that you can buy with your name or reg number to leave on your pitch to indicate that it is taken, or you can just leave a chair and bits to let people know.